Neil Gaiman – “Instructions”

I found this video of a very cool poem by Neil Gaiman called “Instructions.” I like the poem a lot, though I have not read it before, and I like his delivery; the english accents adds a certain flair to the poetic beat or melody of hie piece and they always sound more magical, more mystical than a nasal American voice. He gives good inflection on the piece and looks up and gives laughing breaks at the right moments. I liked most of all, though, how his poem not only took place in a fantastical world of magic and dreams, but it mirrored life in a way that gives advice and suggestions, and even hope, in a poem and a world that is more similar in the end to ours than we first thought. I guess it’s like that with a lot of things, we have an imagined vision of a new place, far off, magical almost, and when we get there, things remind us of home, be they homesickness or the simple drapes that remind us of a napkin left to become stale on the kitchen counter while we were off on vacation. We end up seeing things, meeting people much like at home, they remind us of our families and our journeys in life, and they seem now not so imagined, but more of a new addition to the path of the rest of our lives, the rest of our journeys. I guess people imagine Colombia as a big drug country. It’s not, and I hate it when they do. I didn’t know anything about it, I had to learn from them that it had something to do with drugs, but I was skeptical from the start that cocaine was all it had to do with. We got there, and things did remind me of home. I still had my hobbies, I still had friends, I still had school, I still had family, I still had me. We still ate dinner, we still went to have fun with friends, and we still always came home at night to sleep and dream, until the next day’s turn to begin. I guess I found a lot of things that I could have found at home. I found a girlfriend, I found friends, I found love and loss, I found mental connections and friends htat were more like family, and I found more of me too, hiding away in that distant country. Maybe it’s like this for everybody who lives in a foreign country, learning a little about themselves being in a new place, seeing new things, meeting new people. But I bet a lot of those things remind them of home, and how they got there in the first place. I love being in a foreign place, and I love remembering Colombia. I hate the ignorance with which people treat it, but I have no choice but to live with it, especially if they are unwilling to change their minds, even if they don’t know what they’re talking about and I do. I’ll still remember, and I will still always and forever cherish my memories of living there, learning about me and people, about life and the way people see me and a foreign country. I’ll be home, always, but I guess there’ll always be a part of me somewhere else, waiting for me to find it too, and put together the rest of my journey, my poem about me and my life. Anyways, here’s the video, I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. 🙂

5 Responses to “Neil Gaiman – “Instructions””

  1. *worships Neil Gaiman* Neil is God. Tori is Goddess. Praise be to them.

  2. I like Tori Amos some, but not religiously like some people… ahem. Neil Gaiman I haven’t read much of, except for Mirrormask (which I loved) and then this poem. I’d love to read his new book out… I forget what it’s called, I should look around for that again. Glad you enjoyed the video though.

  3. *sacrifices a goat and says forty ‘Hail Tori’s* GODDESS OF MUSIC! You should read her story, I don’t know about you but I find it fascinating where musicians get the inspiration for their music. Read it here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tori_Amos

    Whatever the case she’s the most fiery, original, impossible woman artist act to follow in the industry. I’ll take that to the bank.

    I thought is was interesting on her first two albums, that she made references to Neil Gaiman, and he in turn modeled one of the characters in The Sandman, I think it was Delerium, after her. If I ever get to direct American Gods (my dream book adaptation, Gaiman’s best IMO), I’d have to beg Tori to do music for it. Their imaginations fit together.

    Yes, yes, I need to sock it. Anyway, what’d you think of the CD? Honestly.

  4. “I’d love to read his new book out… I forget what it’s called, I should look around for that again.”

    http://www.neilgaiman.com/works/books/index.html

    I definately suggest American Gods to read too, and check out the comic book he wrote, Sandman.

  5. Thanks for your comment. I’ve been wanting to read something of his, and I’ve seen Mirrormask and liked it quite a bit, but haven’t had much of a chance to read stuff recently. I’m trying to get some reading in this summer and I’m doing alright, I’ve got a couple new books the other day of short stories, those seem to be the most tolerable, patience-wise. Anwyay, I’ve gotta get going, but thanks for the comment, and please check back every once in a while for new posts.

Leave a Reply

