Tori Amos – From The Choirgirl Hotel

I listened to the whole album From The Choirgirl Hotel by Tori Amos this morning in the car on the way to and from work (not enough kids today to teach), and the main word that comes to mind is interesting. There are some songs that I like more than others, and it becomes apparent that she’s not my usual melodic or rhythm-driven musician, she has a sort of abstract (I guess) feeling in her music. She doesn’t have a set melody that she falls back on for different pieces of a song, and if she does, it’s not noticeable as a “structured” piece of music, with a verse, then chorus, then verse, then chorus, etc. That makes her original and a nice change of pace, and even though some of her tone-shifts and her songs don’t go the way I would have done them, they work, and I still like them. She’s not my absolute favorite artist, but she is good, and I’ll keep listening to her from time to time, as I keep her CD in my (mom’s) car CD player. Good stuff, some of her songs are almost inspiring, they have that upbeat, looking-toward-the-horizon type quality to them. After listening to her album, I guess I got more used to the songs, or the style, and so I liked it more, but I do like the music and I would recommend it to anyone who hasn’t heard her before, just to see what she sounds like.

Leave a Reply

