Rebel Without A Crew

Here’s a book review of Rebel Without A Crew by Robert Rodriguez. I made this for my writing class this past semester (the one that just ended for me, today actually). Enjoy.

10 Responses to “Rebel Without A Crew”

  1. Cool beans, man. Love Rodriguez. It’s sort of funny. I’m not crazy about his movies, but he’s a cool guy (though I am reeeaaallly looking forward to Grindhouse).

    I just ordered this book called If Chins Could Kill: Confessions of a B-Movie Actor, written by the greatest actor in cinematic history, Bruce Campbell. His approach is very Rodriguez-ish. He and Sam Raimi put together Evil Dead and its sequels in the 80’s on minute budgets, and the effects they pulled off are incredible. The book has a lot to do with producing and the behind the scenes of B-horror flicks. If it’s any good I’ll loan it to you.

  2. Alright. I think next year’s going to be full of other stuff too, but I’ll try to get in as much reading as possible. A few books would be great. If not more. I was talking to my brother this weekend about movies and stuff and he is excited about Grindhouse too. He was telling me I really needed to see more Tarantino movies which I guess I should, since I haven’t seen Pulp Fiction or the whole Kill Bill series (only seen #2). That would be pretty important i’d think. Just because he’s been big, so it would be something to just to see and know about. It can’t hurt to have wide background knowledge, just more to draw from in other projects and stuff.

  3. You have to see Pulp Fiction. Required viewing. Kill Bill 1 is a lot different from 2. Be prepared for gallons of gore. It really should’ve been NC-17, IMO. I like the Kill Bill series more than Pulp though. Pulp’s hard to rewatch, it’s got some disturbing moments. Wait until The Gimp scene and you’ll know what I mean.

  4. I’ve seen the scene where the ear gets cut off… but no more spoilers. I’ll watch it and then talk to you about it in person. I’ll also have to watch Kill Bill 1.

  5. The ear scene is from Reservoir Dogs.

  6. Right. I remember now. And I’ve seen the opening “tip” scene from that movie too. I should see that whole movie too though. More stuff to watch and things to do… not enough time…

  7. Just do like I do. Stay up until 2 in the morning watching movies and get cracked, glazed, bloodshot eyeballs and come into school the next day looking like you’ve OD’d.

    I was having a creative crisis. I’ve been having one. There’s so much I want to do script and projectwise, but I find getting started and just doing it to be the hardest part. So over the weekend I told myself, “Look. Pick 3 ideas and put all your creative thoughts and energy into completing them.”

    So I went over my list of things I wanted to do and narrowed it down to doing a SF puppet webseries in place of Phantoms of New England. I was hitting a speed bump on Phantoms because I wanted actual actors to play the humans, which is impossible if I just do something in front of a little green screen. At first I thought I’d switch to the Red-Headed Stepchild idea and do THAT as my puppet thing, but again, I wanted the little girl to be played by an actress. So I went back to the old sci fi epic idea I had, the 60’s inspired one, because it lets me go crazier with the production design and I don’t really care if the humans are puppets because the concept sketches I drew were cartoony and woould work as puppets. So that’s my web series and I’m sticking to it.

    Then I’m taking the Red-Headed Stepchild and want to write it as a feature-length screenplay to send to the Jim Henson company on the off chance that if they like my puppet show they’ll give me a small budget to direct this.

    The last project is to work on a screen adaptation of an obscure comic book called Creature Tech I rather like. Even if nothing comes of it it’ll just keep my writing active if I’m at a loss with my other ideas.

    Workplace Anxiety, Phantoms of New England, have unfortunately been dropped for the time being.

  8. Sounds like me. Minus the drive and decision making toward completing something. So far I’ve been slacking and playing guitar a lot. Nothing’s wrong with the guitar part, but i don’t really like my slacking off stuff. I’m not sure what’s gotten into me, and I don’t like it. Things are kind of weird for now, but I guess they’ll work out. I haven’t talked on here for a while, I need to get something to write about. Maybe I’ll write something later tonight. I don’t have any homework, so I guess I’ll do that. I’ve been thinking of making a custom revamp of this blog into more of a website my summer project and then coming up with a film type of project. I hope things work out. Right now, I’d just like to get started on what I want to do. I don’t know if I will have enough time outside of school, but for now I do, so I should think of something creative to do with the time I have, for as long as I have it. I’m not sure what to do, though. I feel sort of restricted, but maybe it’s just me restricting myself for some reason. I hate it when I do that. I don’t really know why. Maybe I’ll start making an album. That’s what I’ll do. Then I can give it to the film class as a sample of music so they’ll consider me (and other people) for doing some of the music for the film. Or I’ll just do it because I want to. Either way is good for me. Alright, well time to get started on that I guess.

  9. Cool man, I’d like to listen to it when you’re finished. I wouldn’t beat yourself up for slacking off. Pretty much everyone has this phase they go through when they don’t know what to do. I mean, I made this goal list, and you know what I’ve done so far? Basically jack. I’ve just been sitting around watching movies hoping something will inspire me. Last night I said okay, you’re gonna write 1 page of the comic book adaptation and do a rough outline of the first episode of the puppet thing. So I sat staring at my screen, didn’t write an outline, and wrote a very by-the-numbers page of the adaptation without any pazzazz or originality to it, didn’t like it, got cranky, watched Army of Darkness for the bazillionth time. When it was over it was after 1 in the morning. Now I’m paying for it because I’m tired as heck and cranky. But a lot of the problem is, I’m of the opinion you can only do so much on your own. It helps to have a second perspective. It’s great talking to you on here, but in Manchester there’s nobody as interested in this as I am. It’s not to blame them, but I think one of the reasons people can work so quickly in the film industry is because they’re surrounded by like-minded people. Even if someone like an exec thinks your idea is crap, it gives them motivation to make it better, look into alternatives, and just have some feedback, you know.

    Anyway, babbling as always. I’m taking my learners permit test on Monday so this weekend I’ll just be cramming and not doing anything else. So hopefully next week I’ll be able to take a crack at writing one measley little 10 minute webisode.

  10. Thanks for the input. Reminds me of the college discussion we had, how like-minded people will get things done, make the experience all the more worth it. I agree, that’s why I think the summer/roommate idea is a good one, because we’d be the like-minded people and it’d be much easier to do things with two people than just with one. We have plenty of ideas, just not the creative backup to finish them, or just progress on them. I hope this semester’s film project is a good one. There are some nice ideas on the table, now it’s time to refine, rework and redraft. Oh god fun. Forgive my lack of enthusiasm, but I’d rather do someone else’s idea this time around. I want to save mine for a little more development. On the other hand, if we pulled it off, it’d be really nice. Check out http://www.dastolidigital.com and look at their trailer for their new sci-fi movie they’re making. I first watched them when they were in high school. Now they’re in college and doing freaking awesome stuff. Watch it. It’s inspiring.

Leave a Reply

