Say Hello: Director

I was chosen yesterday to be the director for the Advanced Film Project movie. The idea sucks but at least I get to have some kind of say in how the script and story develops. And I looked through his scene-by-scene breakdown of it today in a free 20 minutes or whatever during Chemistry (it’s a super slacker class) and made notes as to how to improve the drama and deeper aspects of the story (in other words, make the thing worth making) and feasability issues. So I’ll be busy with that, but not so much as to inhibit me from doing anything else until production time, which should be all of April and maybe the beginning of May. Anyway, I’m sort of worried about the kids in the class, they don’t seem passionate about the project, trying to sleep or just bear through the little time we actually have in class until it’s over. I can’t think f anything more pointless than joining a class with a big reputation for begin a ton of work when you’re not willing to put in all of the work to get the project completed successfully and on schedule. If they start slacking I’m going to be pissed, and I guess I’ll have to say something about it, but Ill wait until that moment comes… I hope I have to wait longer than I’m anticipating. Right now I’m focusing on the story, and influencing it so that it has some sort of dramatic appeal and some sort of deeper meaning, other than just a day in the life of a girl in a super-controlled world. Yea, that’s all it is. I’ll work with it, and at least the teacher sees the same problem as I do with the story, so he’s pushing for more development too. We’ll see how things progress.

6 Responses to “Say Hello: Director”

  1. You can borrow my meat-mallet if people are being lazy-butts. Nazi Director’s best friend. I’ve been thinking about bringing it to work and just leaving it on my desk in case Jack McBride comes around or I need to get some leverage on Toney.

  2. Hahahaha. Well today went well, actually. We all met and talked for a good hour and about 15 minutes about the story, getting into basically the essence of story and plot: conflict. It was a really good talk I think, and more people got involved toward the end too, so eventually everybody was pitching something in. It’s progressing and I want to see what happens with it now, I just hope it comes soon. maybe it’s not fair to be skeptical, but I haven’t seen a hell of a lot that makes me think otherwise. We’ll see.

  3. BTW dude I got to see Pan’s Labyrinth on Saturday. It was incredible.

  4. Good, glad you liked it. I thought it was pretty cool.

  5. Yeah I was impressed.

    Anyway, good luck with that directing project, remember my mallet’s always here if you need it. 😀

  6. Thanks, I’ll keep you in mind.

Leave a Reply

