Review Day #1

So, how did it go?
Well, I went ahead and planned everything out as I said in the last post, I got up in the morning and didn’t quite feel like that walk, since there’s snow outside, and I’m thinking I’ll have to adjust that part of my plan to be something else, so it’s not just a constant source of a bad beginning to the day.  Today seemed like the worst day of all to try to begin a productivity schedule.  So many things jumped into the path that changed the plans around that by the evening I just gave in and changed the whole plan.  Overall, though, I still got most things done I’d planned on working on.  I didn’t exercise, and I didn’t do any cleaning up of an old PC I’m trying to empty out before I leave for college in Vancouver, but I worked on everything else.

Organizational Skills?Productivity Day 1 list
I definitely need a better way to organize my list of to-dos and to easily change the schedule without completely messing it up and making it unreadable.  Writing in pencil would be a good start, so I’ll try that.  I’m also trying to come up with a nice, readable form or list styled piece that I can use to plan out each day’s workload.  I’ve gone through the Printable CEO series but I couldn’t find one that looked simple but efficient enough to work for me.  They looked pretty involved, and had a lot of symbols or areas on them that, without reading, were unclear.  That sounds obvious, I know, but I’m thinking something I design on my own might work better for me anyway.  Plus, his designs, though they are pretty sweet, are more about keeping track of all the different things he’s got going at once.  That’s in a way what I’m doing as well, but I’m aiming more to list and schedule each day according to the tasks I have to complete each day.  I’m thinking as time goes on about what my own design will look like.

And how do you feel?
How do I feel?  Awkward question… but since you asked (ok, ok, I asked), it was kind of weird.  They day just felt different.  It wasn’t bad, or good, just different.  I can’t really think of a way to explain it, but it was good to get up and have things to do, planned out, ready for me to just jump on them and execute on after the other.  It wasn’t like a nagging feeling, but it wasn’t a relaxed feeling exactly either.  I suppose I’ll have to explore that a little further over the next few days.  Maybe it was just being a bit lost in this new attempted lifestyle, trying to get things done in a very scheduled manner.  I’ll try being a bit more flexible for tomorrow.

Final Notes
My dad’s coming home from the hospital (knee replacement last week) so that may well take up some extra time, and I’ve got work for most of the day anyway.  However, I’ll do my best to plan and update with another intro segment and review segment here on the blog to track and measure my success day-to-day.  I’ve got the closing shift tomorrow, on a Friday night, which isn’t really much fun.  But hey, maybe it will be, you never know.  Well… sometimes you do.  But let’s hope for the best, shall we?  Yea.

Leave a Reply

