Review Day #2

How did it go?
Well, it went pretty well, thanks very much. I planned out most of the day – the part where I’m at home and able to plan my activities – but kept it loose, allowing an hour to pick up my dad from the hospital, and then some extended lunch time after that so he could get settled in. The one thing I didn’t foresee was not getting additional work done on my own projects after he came home. He was a little less independent than I’d thought at first, so the plans for after he came home were scrapped. Though, in the haste of realizing my original plans weren’t going to hold up, I did learn something important about the productivity business.

What did you learn?
Keeping projects in order and in mind (or at least in some easily-accessible and reviewable format) is essential to the productivity-oriented person. When my dad and I finally arrived home I became aware of the fact that I would likely have to sacrifice my planned after-pickup workload in favor of helping him get around and get settled back into being at home. I scrambled upstairs for my notebook/to-do list, and looked at the items on it. “Rotoscoping, break for food/blog review post, leave for work” were the final three entries on the list, and I couldn’t carry out the roto work, which was the most time-consuming and important task of the day. I looked around and realized that I couldn’t think of any of my other projects I’d thought of planning for earlier in the day and in this experiment. Thus, I learned the value of David Seah’s approach to the productivity world: time-, project- and task-tracking devices. Good planning needs to follow good organization, I suppose, and I had skipped the latter. So I quickly threw together some things I saw on my bulletin board (a bunch of pieces of contact information for all kinds of people) and brought them downstairs to sit in the kitchen with my dad while I added the new contacts to my Address Book. However, this task- and project-tracking and organizational business is something I’m going to have to integrate with my to-do list venture, so I can try to keep everything organized in one place, simply but effectively, keeping it both efficient, specific and portable enough so that I can rely on it when the day’s plans change my own.

Final Notes
Overall, it was a productive day. I woke up later, due to staying up later than I’d planned, but I still got a good hour or more of work done on the rotoscoping business, finishing off another shot and coming to the conclusion that I’d probably have to redo what I’d done on the next shot because of some glitches in the plug-in I’m using. No big deal, after a break and change in pace. Using the Bamboo stylus pen is so much fun, and I’m glad I’m having the opportunity to get used to it before I go off to Visual Effects college in Vancouver. Today was a success, despite the changes in plans and the failed idea of post-father-retrieval work time. But I learned and am going to include that thought in the final notes on this process next week when it’s completed, and when I begin to form my own planning methods. The major thing I’d like to change about David Shea’s methods is, of course, keeping them digital, so I don’t use paper, don’t have clutter, and can keep things a bit more organized that way. I’ve yet to figure out how to do this… but I’ve got some time.

Leave a Reply

