Growing Up

Well…this past Monday marked my entirely-less-than-dramatic exit from the world of teenhood, and entrance into young adulthood in the social context (because of course I’d know what that’s like). It was an ordinary day, I spent my time in the usual ways, with few exceptions (burger ‘n’ shake @ Vera’s – which was awesome – and beers at Malone’s). That – along with kayaking on Sunday – have been the social excursions of my last three months or so.

Recent events and reminiscing and reflecting on life and the people in (and out of) it, I’ve been fascinated with the role of integrity and the limits or ranges it has in daily life. And the demand it places on people, and the image or attitude it seems to imply, often regardless of its usage. More though, more than anything else, I’m surprised at the difficulty to maintain it to the level I feel the need to, and the trickiness in applying it to everyday life when convention and practicality demand otherwise.

Look at me all high and mighty. Eh… 20 years old afford some reflection. As does any birthday, really. And any other day, in my mind. Anyway.. I read the following caption and sort of let recent thoughts surface a bit.

I will settle down. Have children. Keep copies of Reader’s Digest in the bathroom. Watch golf. Mow the yard. Remain emotionally distant from our kids. Go to church. Wear a polo shirt tucked into khaki shorts. Write checks at the grocery store. Become a vacant shell of a person who’s only joy is meatloaf dinners. Basically I’m ready to mature as person by quietly dying inside.

Regardless of convention, I’m sticking with Faintheart and Katie Melua for my foreseeable future. On the good side though, I’ve got some hope, according to Milla Jovovich: “Nerdy guys are always the cool ones in the end.”

Via The Superficial. And again.

Leave a Reply

